Its been a while……

June 16th 2013 – that’s almost half the year gone…..well its been an unusual year so far……. My news ? Well …there is the ‘Depositary Art Show’ to speak of – part of the Brighton Fringe Festival – I was invited to exhibit alongside artist Elaine Bewley and to produce work on the theme ‘Depositary’ . It was a great experience and the past 5 months has been devoted to creating the artwork. In short , working on this project took me to the far reaches of the desert – to a place both real and imagined , stirring up memories of journeys passed .Through such a cold cold winter in a totally freezing studio , I worked on the idea of intense sunlight and desert dust. Transporting my mind to memories of the heat – intense and comforting and remembering the light of arid, empty surrounds , I became my younger self …when my life was spent in the sunlit terrain of both sides of the Mediterranean. It was an easier , more inviting existence involving hours spent outdoors breathing the warm air and enjoying the freedom of sunshine . When I lived abroad I was always the travelling artist. I filled sketch books with drawings of the places and people I found myself surrounded by . With an old Rollei camera  a Hollywood friend lent to me , I took photos of the tiny islands I managed to reach after days of waiting around on small island jetties for the small boats to take us further. Depositary made me see how anything can trigger memory – how there really is no accurate way or satisfactory way of recording what a place and time meant to anyone really. Capturing memory is perhaps totally impossible but these works are my artist’s attempt. To see the work go to http://www.susankeshet.com and select ‘Depositary Art Works’.

Oil on wood in window frame

Desert Dakota  Oil on wood in window frame

Copyright Susan Keshet

Leave a Reply

